You are the average of the 5 people you spend the most time with

IMG_0768

There were a few days this week that my body did NOT want to get up at 5am. Most days I am awake ahead of the alarm, but this was one of those weeks where I wasn’t feeling it.

They say you are the average of the 5 people you spend the most time with. It’s true in every aspect of your life including training.  I fell in love with spinning/cycling and running because of the friends I’ve made and the experiences with them along the way.

Rewind 20 years to college and you will find Kathy and me working in a bar (picture left) and living the life that goes along with it.  I move away after college, become engaged, get married, have 2 kids, and then 19 years later, reconnect with Kathy on Facebook. After a year of being Facebook friends, we find that we have both left the bar scene behind, live fairly close to one another again, and are both triathlon enthusiasts.  Fast forward through the summer and our training and we finish the Timberman Half IronMan feeling strong – WOO HOO!!!  (picture right)

Then…it hits! I want to train for a full IronMan. I am terrified!  I want to do this with a friend, with someone who inspires me, someone who will understand, and someone who will enjoy the challenge, the journey, and adventure with me.

At the time, Kathy had never completed more than 63 miles of biking or run more than 13.1 miles.  She has a robust career, spends time volunteering, and has a family with young kids. She has quite the busy life, but Kathy is passionate, determined, and just as crazy as I am because she is all in for training for Mont Tremblant IronMan with me!

What does it take to train for an IronMan?  Well, there’s definitely a long list! First, is the passion and determination.  Second, it’s the people.

I was exhausted this week.  After a week of work, training, car pools, teaching CCD, and being a mom/wife, I went into the weekend and started my Saturday with an 11 mile hilly run with my running friends. After my run, I worked at a soccer festival and spent an active day outside with my family. That evening I drove to Red Bank for dinner to celebrate my dear friends birthday and got home at midnight. When my alarm went off at 6:30am Sunday morning, spending 3 hours on my bike wasn’t at the top of my list! Knowing that Kathy and my training buddies would be waiting for me was my motivation.  Happy to share that we finished that ride strong!  I took a nap after the ride so I could go to my daughter’s soccer game and then lector at mass that evening.

Feeling thankful that I got through another week of training, but really it’s the people around me that helped me to get there!  From my family, to my running friends, my swim chics, Kathy, my coach, and every friend that offers a kind word of encouragement…I am blessed! Feeling the love and support and ready to dig into this week! 17 weeks to go!

Leave a Reply

